Dreaming about cupcakes

Last night I had a dream I was eating the red velvet cupcake from Georgetown Cupcakes. That was my favorite type when I lived there this summer.

Now that I’m on the paleo diet, however, doesn’t mean that I can’t enjoy a good baked good once in awhile. I found a great website for paleo friendly, gluten free baked goods.

I tried out one of their muffin recipes the other day. They were even better than those bought at the store or in a box.

My next food experiment; Carrot Cake!

From the paleofood.com:

6 eggs, separated
1/2 cup honey (or less)
1 1/2 cups carrots, cooked and pureed
1 Tlbs grated orange rind
1 Tlbs frozen orange juice
3 cups almond flour

Preheat over to 325° F.
Beat the egg yolks and honey together. Mix in carrot puree, orange rind,
orange juice and almond flour. Beat the egg whites until stiff and fold in.
Spoon into a greased loose bottomed 9 inch springform pan. Bake for about
50 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out
clean. Cool in the pan for 15 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack to
cool completely.

Source: Partridge <raparch[at]planet.eon.net>
From: http://www.inform.dk/djembe/scd/scdrcp01.html [now dead]

1 Comment

Filed under Feature, Features, Food, Health, Opinion, Paleo Diet, recipes

One response to “Dreaming about cupcakes

Leave a Reply

